Palace distinction

How the distinction is attributed Palace?

"Distinction Palace" is assigned by the Minister for Tourism, at the end of two phases:

- A training phase conducted by Atout-France based on objective eligibility criteria, ranking criteria derived from the 5 star category which become binding: there is a fitness area, spa, multilingual staff, concierge service,...

- An analysis phase by a jury which based its opinion on a set of criteria: location, aesthetics, history of places, personality of the institution, team involvement in the pursuit of excellence, gourmet restaurant, policy of respect for the environment...

The Jury consists of:

  • Dominique FERNANDEZ, a member of the “Académie Française”;
  • Adelaide de CLERMONT TONNERE, French journalist and novelist;
  • Aliza JABES, President NUXE Laboratories;
  • Hubert JOLY, president and CEO of Carlson;
  • Serge NICOLE, President of Ateliers d'Art de France;
  • Joseph OLIVEREAU, Honorary President of Relais & Chateaux;
  • Carole ROUSSEAU, television presenter and producer;
  • Yves ROUSSET-ROUARD, film producer;
  • Gonzague SAINT-BRIS, writer, historian and journalist;
  • Jean-Michel WILMOTTE, architect and designer.

France count hotels distinguished as Palace given by the french state authorities.

  • Grand-Hôtel du Cap-Ferrat – F-06230 Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat (Palace hotel since July 30, 2012)
  • Hôtel du Palais – F-64200 Biarritz (Palace hotel since June 23, 2014)
  • Hôtel Les Airelles – F-73120 Courchevel 1850 (Palace hotel since March 24, 2014)
  • Hôtel Le Cheval Blanc – F-73120 Courchevel 1850 (Palace hotel since January 4, 2013)
  • Le K2 – F-73120 Courchevel (Palace hotel since February 14, 2012)
  • Hôtel Le Meurice – F-75001 Paris (Palace hotel since August 7, 2012)
  • Mandarin Oriental Paris – F-75001 Paris (Palace hotel since December 5, 2011)
  • Hôtel Le Park Hyatt Paris Vendôme – F-75002 Paris (Palace hotel since July 4, 2014)
  • Le Royal Monceau Raffles Paris – F-75008 Paris (Palace hotel since June 6, 2012)
  • Hôtel Le Bristol – F-75008 Paris (Palace hotel since Mai 27, 2010)
  • Four Seasons Hotel George V – F-75008 Paris (Palace hotel since October 7, 2009)
  • Hôtel Le Plaza Athénée – F-75008 Paris (Palace hotel since October 7, 2009)
  • Shangri-La Hôtel Paris – F-75008 Paris (Palace hotel since March 14, 2011)
  • La Réserve Ramatuelle – F-83350 Ramatuelle (Palace hotel since June 2, 2010)
  • Château de la Messaedière – F-83990 Saint-Tropez (Palace hotel since July 4, 2014)
  • Hôtel Byblos – F-83990 Saint-Tropez (Palace hotel since July 1, 2014)
palace logo 

November 8, 2010, the Minister for Tourism announced the rules for granting the "distinction Palace" and the list of members of the jury selection.

The reform of hotel classification established by the Act of July 22, 2009 for development and modernization of tourism services, focused on two main areas: modernization of the classification criteria and the revision of the procedure for obtaining the "new stars ".

Meet the expectations of French and international clientele, this new classification is threefold:

  • Improve the readability and quality of the French hotel offers;
  • Align the positioning of upscale properties with international practices (including those of competing destinations), by creating a category "5 star";
  • Modernize the infrastructure of the hotel sector.

One of the innovations introduced by this reform is the creation of the category "five stars". Issue of image, attractiveness and radiation, causing the entire offer, it is now the figurehead of the best of French hospitality.

However, from 5 star graded hotels, some are to be distinguished. Geographical location, historical, aesthetic and / or particular heritage, bespoke service, except those institutions are part of the tourism landscape has always been French but no official distinction did not come so far to greet their difference.

Therefore, the Minister for Tourism was then entrusted to two professionals in luxury hotels with the preparation of a report on how to create a category "Palace" as a 5-star hotels.

The furnishing of this report, 9 September 2010, was followed by formalizing a distinction "Palace" and then defines the criteria and procedures for allocating entrusted to “Maison de la France”, the Tourism Development Agency France.

The decree of November 8, 2010 now fills the lack of official recognition of these institutions except by creating a "distinction Palace" for the recognition of hotels with unique characteristics.

"Distinction Palace" is meant to enhance these institutions on the international stage. More broadly, it must contribute to the influence of French culture and the attractiveness of France as a destination.

"Distinction Palace" is a collective mark which France holds the trump management and protection.

If you are interested in discoreing the criterias, you can use the Atout-France documentation (in French):



le meurice out side france hotel palacele royal monceau outside 350 france palace hotelhotel park hyatt paris sculpture france palacefour seasons georges v entrance france hotel palacele bristol entrance France Palace Hotelplaza athenee outside France hotel palaceshangri-la outside France Palace Hotelmandarin outside France hotel palace

French Riviera

chateau de la messardiere outside 350grand hotel du cap ferrat outside 350la reserve ramatuelle outside 350byblos outside 350

French Alps

les airelles outside 350cheval banc out side 350le k2 outside 350

Atlantic Ocean Coast

hotel du palais outside 350